UMRI BOARD TERMS OF REFERENCE and MEMBERSHIP

Terms of Reference

- 1. The University of Manchester Research Institute (UMRI) has two principal aims:
 - a. To foster interdisciplinary research excellence by ensuring that the necessary structures, resources (including funding) and incentives are in place;
 - b. to provide a governance framework for research institutes and other interdisciplinary structures in the University.
- The principal governing body of UMRI is the UMRI Board. The UMRI Board sets the overall strategy for UMRI and is the reporting line for bodies falling within the UMRI remit. The Board is expected to:
 - a. monitor and evaluate the performance of research beacons, institutes platforms and other entities governed by UMRI,
 - b. consider the need for their continuation and to ratify the formation of new university institutes, beacons and platforms.
 - c. Ensure that all relevant major interdisciplinary research assets across the University are drawn into the UMRI portfolio so as to inform systematic and informed strategic decision making, and to promote and amplify our research standing in our communications and strategic briefings.
- 3. UMRI will retain ultimate control over the use of the term "institute" and also be responsible for resolving any other issues in relation to nomenclature.
- 4. The UMRI Board will meet four times a year and will delegate the regular business of UMRI to the Research Strategy Group.
- 5. UMRI reports to the University executive and makes recommendations aligned with the University strategy.
- 6. UMRI prepares a year-end annual report which is discussed by the University executive and is also received by Senate Academic Quality Assurance Sub-Committee— Research as part of the annual assurance process.
- 7. The membership of the UMRI Board will be:

The Vice-President for Research (Chair)

Faculty Vice-Presidents and Deans

Associate Vice-President for Research (Interdisciplinary Research)

Faculty Vice-Deans for Research and Innovation

Faculty Associate Deans Research/Facilities and Institutes (as determined by the Faculty)

Executive Director of Research and Business Engagement

Head of Research Strategy

Membership 2024/25

Professor Colette Fagan, Vice-President for Research (Chair)

Professor Fiona Devine, Vice-President & Dean, Faculty of Humanities

Professor Allan Pacey, Deputy Dean, Faculty of Biology, Medicine & Health

Professor Martin Schröder, Vice-President and Dean, Faculty of Science and Engineering

Professor Nigel Hooper, Associate Vice-President for Research

Professor Richard Curry, Vice-Dean for Research and Innovation, Faculty of Science and Engineering

Professor Maggie Gale, Vice-Dean for Research and Innovation, Faculty of Humanities

Professor Andy Trafford, Vice-Dean for Research and Innovation, Faculty of Biology, Medicine & Health

Professor James Evans, Associate Dean for Research, Faculty of Humanities

Professor Stuart Holmes, Associate Dean for Facilities and Institutes, Faculty of Science and Engineering

Dr Andrew Walsh, Executive Director of Research and Business Engagement

Sarah Albutt, Head of Research Strategy

Secretariat is provided by Claire Faichnie, Research Strategy Projects Manager