APPROVED minutes



THE UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

Thursday 31 March 2022

MINUTES

Present: Mr Edward Astle

Dr Marilyn Comrie Mr Zeb Farooq Mr Jim Hancock Mr Nick Hillman Mr Raoul Shah Ms Roz Webster

In attendance: Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell (President and Vice-Chancellor), Mr

Patrick Hackett (RSCOO), Mr Mark Rollinson (Secretary), Miss Sally

Ainsworth (minutes)

Apologies: Mr Gary Buxton

Professor Danielle George

1. Declarations of Interest

Noted: No additional declarations of interest were made.

2. Welcome to new members

Noted: The two new lay members of the General Assembly, appointed to the Nominations Committee (Marilyn Comrie and Zeb Farooq), were welcomed by the Chair.

3. Chancellor Nomination

Received: a report detailing the next steps and options in the process of appointing the Chancellor of the University.

Noted:

- i. that after the required nomination period, which ended on 28 March 2022, one valid nomination had been received for the role of Chancellor
- ii. that in such circumstances, Ordinance I (Election of the Chancellor and Terms and Termination of Appointment) sets out the process (see below):
- "6. Should there be only one candidate validly nominated, the Returning Officer shall refer it

to the Nominations Committee, which will assess the nominee's candidacy for the role of Chancellor and either, recommend the appointment to the Board of Governors or, alternatively, recommend that nominations should be re-opened. If the Board of Governors subsequently confirms the recommendation of the Nominations Committee, the Returning Officer shall declare the nominee as elected and make the result public. In the event that the Nominations Committee and Board of Governors recommend that nominations should be reopened, then the electoral process will restart at Stage 4 and the Returning Officer shall again notify all persons eligible to participate in the election stating that the Chancellorship is or is to become vacant, as may be appropriate, specifying the date appointed for the election and drawing attention to the provisions of this Ordinance In these circumstances, the sole nomination received would not be carried forward but could be resubmitted in the new ballot."

iii. the valid nomination was for Mr Nazir Afzal, OBE, former Chief Crown Prosecutor for North

West England. Mr Afzal's candidate declaration form was enclosed along with the names of the twenty electors supporting his nomination (as required under Ordinance I).

The Committee was therefore asked to consider its recommendation to the Board, i.e. either

to recommend the appointment of the candidate or that nominations be re-opened.

Recommended:

- i. Having given the matter full consideration, the Committee unanimously agreed to recommend the appointment of Nazir Afzal as Chancellor (Roz Webster attended the meeting of Nominations Committee and as one of the supporters of Nazir Afzal, recused herself from the recommendation: Gary Buxton, another member of the Committee and supporter of Nazir Afzal had sent apologies for the meeting).
- ii. The Committee agreed that the matter be put to the Board via correspondence, with a strong recommendation to approve the appointment of Nazir Afzal as Chancellor. In addition to Gary Buxton and Roz Webster, two other Board members, Claire Alexander and Dan George were named supporters of Nazir Afzal's candidacy and therefore did not need to respond.

(Secretary's note: the Board unanimously approved the appointment of Nazir Afzal as Chancellor, and the appointment was made public on 7 April 2022.

4. Date of next meeting

Monday 6 June 11:45am – 2:00pm