

THE UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER

MEMBERSHIP OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY 2024-25

a) Internal membership of 25

Ex officio members (5)

Nazir Afzal, OBE, Chancellor Jim Hancock, Pro-Chancellor Lexie Baynes, Union Affairs Officer Professor Duncan Ivison, President and Vice-Chancellor Philippa Hird, Chair of the Board of Governors

Lay members of the Board (2)

Ann Barnes

Anna Dawe

Student Members (2)

tbc

Staff Members (8)

Dr Cesare Ardito
William Aughton
Kim Graakjaer
Tom Jirat
Josie Lyons
Dr Isabel Monteiro dos Santos Pires
Zoe Papageorgiou
Mark Scoular

Senate Members (8)

Dr Simeon Gill Prof Niels Walet 6 x vacancies

b) External membership. This includes representation from the Alumni Association (8) and members of designated bodies

Alumni Members (8)

Professor Helen, Gunter Venice Irving Sarah Jo Loveday Calum McGowan Deborah Streatfield Jiawei Yu Ishaka Yukubu



The University of Manchester Jiani Zhou

Designated Bodies (18)

Councillor Sandra Collins – Manchester City Council

Councillor Chris Wills – Manchester City Council

Councillor Wendy Meikle - Stockport Council

Councillor Laura Flynn - Wigan Council

Councillor Denise Ward - Tameside Council

Councillor Mohon Ali - Oldham Council

Councillor Jack Youd - Salford Council

Councillor Craig Browne - Cheshire East Council

Councillor Nicholas Peel – Bolton Council

Councillor Karina Carter - Trafford Council

Councillor Rachel Massey - Rochdale Council

1 vacancy - Bury Council

Emma Bilsbury – Greater Manchester Police

Adrian Bull – Confederation of British Industry (North West)

Fiona Campbell – TUC

Steve Connor - Greater Manchester Local Enterprise Partnership

Chris Fletcher – Manchester Chamber of Commerce

Martin Lax, Transport for Greater Manchester

Individual Members

Dr Catherine Alnuamaani, Trinity C of E High School

Carl Austin-Behan OBE DL, LGBTQ+ Advisor to The Mayor of Greater Manchester

Dr JS Bamrah, Senior Consultant Psychiatrist

Lily Barton, Fellow Royal Society of Arts

Erinma Bell, COO, CARISMA

Wayne Bennett, Director at Fairmont Recruitment

Tamzin Bond, Postgraduate Researcher (PhD) at Imperial College London (Alumni)

Ben Bridgewater, CEO, Health Innovation Manchester

Dr Faye Bruce Ruddock, Chair of Caribbean and African Health Network

Amanda Corcoran, Director of Education, Manchester City Council

Kathy Cowell – Group Chairman, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust

Ed Cremin, Etude

Rachel Curry, Principal - Manchester College

Lucy Danger, Emerge

Will Day-English, The Works

Sally Dervan, CEO Manchester, Age UK

Stuart Dunne, CEO of Youth Focus (the organisation which supports Youth Parliament)

Fatema El-Wakeel, Data Analytics strategist (Alumni)

Zeb Farooq, Bid Manager, Amentum

Karen Gabay, Presenter and Broadcaster

Russell Gill, Head of Community Delivery, Co-op

Dr Susan Hilton, Chair - Manchester Lit and Phil Society

Matt Howarth, Co-founder and Director, Reason Digital

Sam Kalubowila, Senior Relationship Manager, Arts Council



The University of Manchester

Ian Kerr, Employer Engagement Director, The Growth Company

Jamila Kossar Manchester Islamic High School for Girls

Professor Manisha Kumar, Chief Medical Officer, NHS Greater Manchester Integrated Care

Ian MacArthur, Charter Director, GM Good Employment Charter

Joe Manning, Managing Director, MIDAS

Louise Marix-Evans, Quantum

Lisa Maynard-Atem, MD of the Black United Representation Network

Furgan Naeem, Lead Organiser, Greater Manchester Citizens

George Obolo, University of Manchester

Sameed Rezayan, Head of Learning, Education and Schools, Factory International

Vicky Rosin, Numerous regional roles including Director of the Manchester Central Library

Development Trust

Reverand Ian Rutherford, City Centre Minister; Faith Sector Lead, Greater Manchester Homelessness

Action Network and GM Homelessness Programme Board

Professor Dame Robina Shah, Interim Chair, Northern Care Alliance

Abigail Shapiro, Tutor Trust

Vicky Sharples, Chief Nurse and Executive Director of Quality, The Christie Foundation

Jess Thompson, Director, City of Trees

Rhys Whalley, Exec Director, Manchester China Forum

Mike Wilton, Chair of Manchester Climate Change Partnership

Helen Woodcock, The Kindling Trust

Jonathan Yates, CEO SORT Citizen's Advice Bureau

Founder Members

Professor John Garside, CBE, DSc(Eng), FREng Professor Sir Martin Harris, CBE Dr Rodger Pannone, QC (Hon), DL, FRSA

Former Pro-Chancellor

Gillian Easson