#### THE UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER

#### **MEMBERSHIP OF THE SENATE**

#### FROM 1 SEPTEMBER 2024

### Ex Officio members (28)

### Category 1

The President and Vice-Chancellor, Professor Duncan Ivison

#### **Vice-Presidents**

Professor April McMahon (Teaching, Learning and Students)

Professor Colette Fagan (Research)

Professor Nalin Thakkar (Social Responsibility)

Professor Richard Jones (Regional Innovation and Civic Engagement)

### **Vice-Presidents and Deans of Faculties**

Professor Fiona Devine, Humanities

Professor Ashley Blom, Biology, Medicine and Health

Professor Martin Schröder, Science and Engineering

### **Heads of School**

Professor Andy Brass - School of Health Sciences

Professor Ken McPhail – Alliance Manchester Business School

Professor Juup Stelma – School of Environment, Education and Development

Professor Chris Hardacre – School of Natural Sciences

Professor Tony Heagerty - School of Medical Science

Professor Claire Alexander – School of Social Sciences

Professor Simon Hubbard- School of Biological Sciences

Professor Sarah Cartmell – School of Engineering

Professor Thomas Schmidt – School of Arts, Languages and Cultures

### Category 2

# **Associate Vice-Presidents**

Professor Gabrielle Finn (Teaching, Learning and Students)

Professor Melissa Westwood (Research)

Professor Chris Taylor (Business and Digital)

Professor Nigel Hooper (Research)

### **Vice Deans**

Professor Richard Curry, Science and Engineering (Research)

Professor Jennifer Hallam, Biology, Medicine and Health (*Teaching, Learning and Students*)

Professor Peter Green, Science and Engineering (Teaching, Learning and Students)

Professor Maggie Gale, Humanities (Research)

Professor Fiona Smyth, Humanities (Teaching, Learning and Students)

Professor Andrew Trafford, Biology, Medicine and Health (Research)

### Category 3

# Elected members – including School Board Chairs (58) (to 31 August in the year indicated)

Professor Mike Barnes, School of Engineering (2026)

Dr Riza Batista-Navarro, School of Engineering (2027)

Dr Lynne Bianchi, School of Engineering (2026)

Dr Tine Breban, School of Arts, Languages and Cultures (2026)

Professor Keith Brennan, School of Medical Sciences (2025)

Dr Emily Collins, School of Engineering (2027)

Professor Sheena Cruickshank, School of Biological Sciences (2026)

Professor Rachel Cowen, School of Medical Sciences (2025)

Professor Frederick Currell, Dalton Nuclear Institute (2026)

Professor Adam Danquah, School of Health Sciences (2025)

Dr Ola Demkowicz, School of Environment, Education and Development (2026)

Dr Francisco Eissa-Barroso, School of Arts, Languages and Cultures (2025)

Dr Carl Emery, School of Environment, Education and Development (2026)

Professor Rob Ford, School of Social Sciences (2027)

Dr Simeon Gill, School of Natural Sciences (2026)

Dr Sadia Habib, School of Environment, Education and Development (2026)

Professor Simon Harper, School of Engineering (2025)

Dr Duncan Hull, School of Engineering (2026)

Professor Andrew James, Alliance Manchester Business School (2027)

Dr Robert Kirk School of Medical Sciences (2026)

Dr Karen Lander School of Health Sciences (2026)

Dr Jen McBride, School of Health Sciences (2026)

Dr Bernardo Magri, School of Engineering (2026)

Professor Miguel Martinez Lucio, Alliance Manchester Business School (2027)

Professor Paul Mativenga, School of Engineering (2027)

Professor David Matthews, School of Arts, Languages and Cultures (2026)

Andrew Mawdsley, School of Health Sciences (2026)

Dr Katie Moore, School of Natural Sciences (2027)

Dr Stephen Mossman, School of Arts, Languages and Cultures (2025)

Dr Robert Naylor, School of Biological Sciences (2027)

Professor Mahesh Nirmalan, School of Medical Sciences (2025)

Professor Bijan Parsia, School of Engineering (2025)

Professor James Pattison, School of Social Sciences (2026)

Dr Hema Radhakrishnan, School of Health Sciences (2026)

Professor Bill Sampson, School of Natural Sciences (2025)

Dr Ayodele Sasegbon, School of Medical Sciences (2027)

Professor David Schultz, School of Natural Sciences (2026)

Professor Flor Siperstein, School of Engineering (2025)

Ms Rachel Studd, School of Natural Sciences (2025)

Dr James Sumner, School of Medical Sciences (2027)

Dr Drew Tarmey, School of Medical Sciences (2026)

Professor Simone Turchetti, School of Medical Sciences (2025)

Dr Nick Turnbull, School of Social Sciences (2027)

Professor Simon Turner School of Biological Sciences (2026)

Dr Soumhya Venkatesan, School of Social Sciences (2026)

Professor Arpana Verma, School of Health Sciences (2025)

Professor Niels Walet, School of Natural Sciences (2025)

Professor Adrian Woolf, School of Biological Sciences (2025)

Dr Ümit Yildiz, School of Environment, Education and Development (2027)

### **Chairs of School Boards**

Professor Carolyn Abbott - School of Social Sciences

Professor Naomi Chambers - Alliance Manchester Business School

Dr Miriam Firth - School of Environment, Education and Development

Dr Reinmar Hager - School of Biological Sciences

Professor Penelope Stanford - School of Health

Sciences

Dr Robert Sansom - School of Natural Sciences

Dr Laurence Stamford - School of Engineering

Dr Anna Strowe - School of Arts, Languages and Cultures

Professor Anne White - School of Medical Science

# Co-opted members (5)

Associate Vice-President - Internationalisation, Professor Stephen Flint Director of the Student Experience, Dr Simon Merrywest The Librarian, Professor Christopher Pressler Director of Social Responsibility, Dr Julian Skyrme Director of Research and Business Engagement, Dr Andrew Walsh

# Category 5

# Student members (8, appointed by the Union)

Lexie Baynes - Union Affairs Officer
Adil Ashraf - Research Officer
Charlie Roberts - Activities & Culture Officer
Gabrielle Bailey - Biology, Medicine & Health Officer
Aisha Akram - Wellbeing & Liberation Officer
Nahid Farzalizadeh - Science & Engineering Officer
Elliot Briffa - City & Community Officer
Katie Jackson - Humanities Officer