Researchers of the Year 2019

The criteria against which nominations are judged state that:

"The nominee should be someone whose most recent research has successfully challenged dogma, created a new field of research, elucidated a new paradigm, made a fundamental change in thinking or impacted significantly on society."

Professor Caroline Dive, School of Medical Sciences, FBMH

Professor Caroline Dive CBE leads the outstanding Clinical and Experimental Pharmacology group at the Cancer Research UK (CRUK) Manchester Institute and is the Institute's Deputy Director.

In addition, Caroline is the Director of the Manchester Centre for Cancer Biomarker Sciences and Codirector of the CRUK Lung Cancer Centre of Excellence.

She has an international reputation for the validation and implementation of pharmacodynamic, prognostic and predictive biomarkers, and has revolutionised the fields of circulating biomarkers and lung cancer.

She has transformed the field of biomarker research and early clinical trial activities, and designed and led a Clinical Pharmacology Fellowship Scheme that prepares young medical oncologists for the challenges of personalised medicine for cancer treatment. She is committed to nurturing the next generation of clinical researchers in oncology and has a pivotal role in establishing powerful alliances between academia, industry and the NHS that are key to the advancement of medical science.

Professor Frank Geels, Alliance Manchester Business School, FHUMS

Professor Frank Geels, who is Professor of System Innovation and Sustainability at the Alliance Manchester Business School, is described as having demonstrated himself to be a transformative intellectual.

Frank is the chief proponent of the so-called "socio-technical transition theory" which covers large-scale system changes (in energy, food and transport) that involve technical, socio-economic, political and cultural processes.

His work is highly cited and his research has generated broad impact to the academic community and society.

Frank co-founded the Sustainability Transitions Research Network which he has chaired since 2011. He has also consulted on transitions for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, the OECD, Climate-KIC, the World Wildfire Fund and the European Commission.

His reach is clearly truly global even though his career is still relatively young.

Professor Rahul Raveendran Nair, School of Chemical Engineering and Analytical Science, FSE

Professor Rahul Raveendran Nair from the School of Chemical Engineering and Analytic Science was nominated for his outstanding work on developing a new type of membrane based on graphene, and demonstrating its vast potential for the next generation filtration and desalination systems.

Rahul's research demonstrated that membranes made from graphene oxide are impermeable to all gases and liquids except for water- therefore making atomic-scale water sieves which block salts and other molecules, a mechanism completely different from that of polymer-based membranes.

This promises to enable energy efficient and high volume water filtration and has the potential to solve one of our global challenges: access to clean water.

Rahul's research achievements are already being acknowledged by several prizes.