THE UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER

Election of Members of Senate

Information for Electors

1. Notice of election

An election is being held according to the provisions of General Regulation I <u>http://documents.manchester.ac.uk/display.aspx?DocID=10970</u> (to appoint members of the paid academic and research staff (full-time and part-time) to hold office as elected members of Senate from 1 September 2019.

Details of the number of vacancies arising in each electoral group are given in section 4, and criteria for eligibility is provided in section 5. Nominations are now invited via the nomination form accompanying this notice.

Completed nomination forms should be returned by email or in hard copy to the Deputy Secretary's Office (Room 1.030 John Owens Building), to arrive by 12 noon on Monday, 4 February 2019.

2. Background

Elections to the Senate of the University are held annually. Approximately one third of the elected places will fall vacant from 1 September 2019, and these are the subject of this election.

3. Electoral groups

The total number of seats on Senate for elected members is 40, and they are distributed between the three faculties as follows:

Faculty of Science and Engineering	13
Faculty of Humanities	12
Faculty of Biology, Medicine and Health	15

The rationale for the allocation of places is based on the number of academic and research staff within these faculties. If the number of nominations received in any Faculty's electoral group exceeds the number of vacancies, a ballot will be held within the Faculty concerned.

4. Vacancies arising in each electoral group, and members continuing in office from 1 September 2019

Vacancies are declared as follows:

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Vacancies (6): 6 places for the period 1 September 2019 to 31 August 2022 (*vice* Professor Sarah Cartmell, Professor Sarah Heath, Dr Gregory Lane-Serff, Professor Steve Liddle, Dr Helen McCormick, Dr Delia Vazquez)

	(Professor Sarah Cartmell has served for two consecutive terms and therefore cannot serve again without a year's break. All others are eligible for re-election)
Continuing in office (7):	Professor Philippa Browning
	Professor Jitesh Gajjar
	Professor Aline Miller
	Professor Uli Sattler
	Dr Maria Sharmina
	Dr Gianpaolo Vignali
	Professor Louise Walker
Faculty of Humanities	
	Vacancies (3): 3 places for the period 1 September 2019 to 31 August 2022 (<i>vice</i> Dr Ina Berg, Dr Steven Jones and Dr Soumhya Venkatesan)
	(All are eligible for re-election)
Continuing in office (9):	Miss Zahra Alija
	Dr Wiebke Brockhaus-Grand
	Professor Jackie Carter
	Dr Kieron Flanagan
	Dr Christian Goeschel
	Professor Debra Howcroft
	Dr Stephen Mossman
	Dr Tanja Müller Dr Adam Ozanne

Faculty of Biology, Medicine and Health

Vacancies (6): 6 places for the period 1 September 2019 to 31 August 2022 (*vice* Professor Mark Ashe, Dr Dawn Edge, Dr Enam- Ul Haque, Professor Aneez Esmail, Dr Janine Lamb, Professor Anne White)

(All are eligible for re-election)

Continuing in office (9): Professor John Aplin Dr Sarah Cotterill Professor Linda Davies Dr Reinmar Hager Dr Nicky High Dr Ilaria Russo Professor Ellen Schafheutle Dr Tracey Speake Dr Anna Woollams

5. Eligibility to nominate, vote and stand for election

Any paid member of the academic or research staff, full-time or part-time, who holds:

- an appointment of duration greater than twelve months; or
- an appointment of duration of twelve months or less, but has an accumulated length of continuous service in excess of twelve months

is eligible to nominate, vote or stand for election in the Faculty electoral group to which their post is assigned.

There is no <u>regulatory</u> bar to a member of staff whose current appointment expires before the term of office begins, or very shortly thereafter, standing for election. However, Staff should only consider standing if they intend accepting and/or have a reasonable expectation of continuing to serve on Senate as a representative of their Faculty. Staff planning to retire within the next 12 months should give careful consideration before submitting an application.

Any member of staff who is in doubt as to whether he or she is eligible to vote and/or stand for election should contact me in the first instance (tel: 306 (6)3772, email: elections@manchester.ac.uk).

6. *Ex officio* membership

The membership of Senate also comprises a number of *ex officio* positions. *Ex officio* members are ineligible for nomination as elected members. The *ex officio* members are:

The President and Vice-Chancellor (in the Chair) The Deputy President and Deputy Vice-Chancellor The Vice-Presidents The Vice-Presidents and Deans of Faculties The Associate Vice-Presidents The Vice Deans for Teaching, Learning and Students and for Research in each Faculty

Mark Rollinson Deputy Secretary