

The Rt Hon. the Lord Mandelson

Until 2010, Lord Mandelson was a Cabinet member and First Secretary of State with responsibilities including higher education policy, science and innovation. Following the financial crisis, he introduced new industrial policies to spearhead collaboration between technological research and development and the private sector, establish modern apprenticeships and promote further funding reform and widening access to Britain's universities.

Previously, he had been Northern Ireland Secretary and supervised the creation of the province's first all-party devolved government and first ever decommissioning of weapons.

In his first Cabinet post, at Trade and Industry, he oversaw the establishment of regional development agencies, introduced the landmark White Paper, Building a Knowledge-driven Economy, and signed the national minimum wage into law.

Between 2004-8, Lord Mandelson was the European Union's Trade Commissioner and chief negotiator of the Doha World Trade Round along with the leading representatives of the US, China, Brazil, India, Australia and Japan.

He undertook bilateral trade negotiations between Europe and countries across central and southern America, southeast Asia, India, Canada, Japan and Korea. He re-negotiated the trade and development agreements between Europe and African, Caribbean and Pacific nations.

Between 1992 and 2004, he was Member of Parliament for Hartlepool in County Durham and prior to this was Director of Campaigns and Communications of the Labour Party from 1985.

He had been previously employed as a producer on ITV's Weekend World and his first job was in the Economic department of the Trades Union Congress following his university education at St Catherine's College, Oxford, where he read Philosophy, Politics and Economics and is now an honorary Fellow.

He was raised in London and was educated at Hendon County Grammar School before leaving for a year, prior to university, to live and work in northern Tanzania.

Lord Mandelson was born in 1953.

List of nominators:

Ms Lillian Barton Mr Nicholas Bent Miss Rachel Brealey Lord Burns Rt Hon Liam Byrne Mr Christopher Charlton Mr Steve Connor Mr Michael Crick Miss Lucy Danger Dr James Evans Mr Stephen Falder Professor Peter Folkman Professor Jeremy Gregory Mr Patrick Hackett Mr Jim Hancock Mr Robert Hough Mr Alex James Dr Andrew Karvonen Sir Terence Leahy Ms Susan Lipton Ms Fiona Nicholls Mr Nick Pringle Mr Jonathan Reynolds Ms Grace Skelton Mr Tom Skinner Mr Matthew Strong Mr Michael Taylor Mr Paul Wheeler Professor Michael Wood