

## Sir Mark Elder, CBE

Sir Mark Elder has been Music Director of the Hallé Orchestra, Manchester's longest-established symphony orchestra, since 2000, and has recently committed to the role through to at least 2020. This will make him the Hallé's second longest-standing principal conductor (after Sir John Barbirolli), since Charles Hallé himself founded the orchestra in 1858. He was previously Music Director of English National Opera, and of the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra, USA. He regularly conducts the world's leading orchestras, including the Boston, Chicago and London symphony orchestras, is a Principal

Artist of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, and appears in the world's leading opera houses across the USA, the UK and mainland Europe.

Sir Mark has led the Hallé to a number of prestigious awards over the last 15 years, including several Gramophone best recording awards, and critically-acclaimed performance series at the Bridgewater Hall, the Manchester International Festival, annually at the BBC Proms and on international tours.

Sir Mark was born in Hexham, Northumberland, was brought up in London and studied music at Cambridge. He has shown a strong commitment to developing young players, and has enjoyed long associations with the National Youth Orchestra, and the Australian Youth Orchestra. He has led significant programmes to engage the Hallé in schools' educational programmes, and is President of the charity Future Talent, which helps talented young musicians from areas of deprivation across Greater Manchester realise and develop their talent, in conjunction with local music services.

He holds the International Chair in conducting at the Royal Northern College of Music, and honorary degrees from the universities of Leeds, Sheffield and the Open University. He was awarded an honorary degree (MusD) by The University of Manchester in 2003.

Sir Mark was knighted in 2008 and was awarded the CBE in 1989.

## List of nominators:

Dr Teresa Anderson Ms Helen Barton Mr Samuel Bibby Mr Eamon Boylan Mrs Roxanne Bretherton Mr David Buckley Mrs Lesley Dowdall Professor Peter Eccles Ms Nicola Evers Professor Colette Fagan Professor David Fanning Mr Alex Grantham Ms Joanne Keown Ms Tanya Luff Miss Sally Mavin Professor Werner Muller Professor Tim O'Brien Mr Christopher Petty Mr Craig Rayner Mrs Jill Roberts Mr Thomas Saunders Mrs Sara Sawiki Mr Robin Tempelman Mrs Victoria Tolan Ms Janet Wilkinson Mr Jonathan Winter Miss Susan Wong