

Lemn Sissay, MBE

Lemn Sissay is an award-winning writer and broadcaster. He is associate artist at the Southbank Centre, patron of The Letterbox Club and The Reader Organisation and ambassador for The Children's Reading Fund. Lemn is a fellow of The Foundling Museum and was the first poet commissioned to write for London Olympics 2012. His public art Landmark Poems are installed throughout Manchester and London, with 'Gilt of Cain' unveiled by Bishop Desmond Tutu.

He is the author of a series of books of poetry alongside articles, records, radio documentaries, public art, and plays. His installation poem 'What If'

exhibited at The Royal Academy, touring the world from Tokyo to New York, and '21st Century Poem' was released on the multi-million selling, award-winning album Leftism by Leftfield. A violin concerto performed at The BBC Proms by Viktoria Mullova was inspired by and named after his poem 'Advice For The Living'.

The BBC television documentary, 'Internal Flight', and radio documentary, 'Child of the State', were both broadcast about his life and his TED Talk about childhood has more than half a million views. Lemn was the first Black Writers Development Worker in the North of England, based in Manchester. In 2010, he was awarded an MBE for services to literature. The Sissay PhD Scholarship for care leavers, the first of its kind, has been running for six years.

He regularly reads on stages and in universities across the globe as an inspirational speaker and poet. The University of Manchester will award him with an Honorary Doctorate for services to the arts, in October 2015. He wrote the official poem for the 2015 FA Cup and is currently writing a musical with the Manchester Royal Exchange.

List of nominators:

Dr Maria Balshaw Mr Thomas Barlow Rev Andy Braunston Professor Matthew Cobb Miss Rosie Dammers Mr Henri Egle Sorots Ms Charlotte Evans Dr Mohamed Ghalaieny Ms Marie Harman Mr Adam Hill Ms Jessica Lishak Mr Conor McGurran Miss Ellen McLaughlin Miss Tessy Maritim Mr Glen Marsden Dr Nick Merriman Ms Jessica Nightingale Ms Tabatha O'Brien-Butcher Ms Hannah Paterson Miss Harriet Pugh Mr Anthony Steel Ms Helen Stevenson Miss Catherine Stewart Miss Laura Sullivan Miss Lisa Tighe Ms Joanna Tripney Mr Thomas Turner Ms Catriona Watson Mr Joel White